Home Chat General Chat

fitting in training

I am new to triathlon and am doing the London Triatlon in July. So I've 15 weeks left to get myself in a position where I can at least finish.

I'll start with the best (it goes down hill from here)

I'm a reasonable swimmer and train between 0 and 3 times a week depending on when I can fit it in around work and other committments, I tend to do around 2k of swimming in roughly 45 mins, a mixture of drills, speed and endurance work. I'm happy with the swim.

I am a relatively new cyclist and am very slow. I am doing most of my cycling training as part of my commute to work. Generally 2 x 40min cycles 3 times a week sometimes slightly more an I've recently done a couple of 50mile rides (very slowly - around 10mph) on weekends. Is this going to be enough training, I am timing my rides and working on increase rpms, I'm also varying routes to include some hillier sessions.

I am not running at all at the moment because I've had a calf injury, which seems to have now recovered so I plan to start following a 12 week - 10k plan. At the moment I can only manage about 2-3k at best and at the end of it I'm a sweating gibbering mess. Past experience tells me that in around 6-8 weeks I should be able to get myself up to running a staight 5k and I'm hoping that the rest of the time I have combined with a general increase in fitness will carry me the rest of the way. Am I being overly optimistic.

Here is my real problem, in addition to the above I have to fit in work (normal 9-5) I also row, 2 nights training (1 hour sessions) and regattas on weekends, and am walking the south west coast path (average 12 miles per weekend). I tend to treat my weekend walk day as my rest day. I generally avoid running on days when I am either cycling or rowing.

Is 2 x 45m swimming, 4 x 30m running/walking, 8 x 40m cycling + 1 x 2hr cycling (+ 2 x 1 hr rowing + 1 x 6 hr walking) enough/to much/unfocused

Advice and comments please

I

Comments