Home Chat General Chat

Sprint to olympic in 8 Weeks

hello, im new to Triathlon, ive been training for the past 12weeks towards a triathlon sprint and hooked!

i was thinking of doing another sprint at the end of the season, but i was wondering if 8 weeks is a realistic goal from a sprint to olympic distance?

what are your thoughts? my Sprint time is estimates to be in the 1.30 - 1.45 Min and thats a very realistic goal but more importantly i want to do this, and im good with not getting into a competative mode, just completing the race will be my goal rather than scoring high/time

ive often done large cycling events/half marathons so im looking to step it up a notch, keep my mind focused on somthing through out the summer and make the most of this new found hobby

sam.

Comments

• MGMG Posts: 470
    The jump from sprint to oly isnt as huge as you may think.

You say you've participated in cycle events and run a half mara, if this is the case the only thing that could be the deal breaker is the swim. You could easily train 7-8 weeks and build your swim to cover that so the only thing holding you back is your bottle................do it..............DO IT!!! :D
  • LegacyUserLegacyUser Posts: 0
    Hi, when you say you did a sprint was that a 400m or 750/800 swim distance ? was it pool or open water ?

I would like to do an olympic but has just finished my first tri and the swim part was awful (truely!) and I was looking to do a 750 swim next and then enter an olympic.

Interested if you have a training plan to take you from sprint to olympic ? Swim is my biggest concern.

thanks
  • samwookiesamwookie Posts: 28
    the triathlon is in 3 weeks, its open water 705M / 20KM Bike / 5KM Run

and the olympic is double... spoke to personal trainer i know and said its possible if i organise my recovery, he suggested i start taking gelatin?