Home Chat General Chat

WAT - Wife Added Tax

2»

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Mr C.....negotiated lift, now entered...
  • JulesJules Posts: 987
    Is there a sub-category of WAT:-

Items subject to WAT at such a high level that you have not yet taken them home?

I have a new pair of bike shoes delivered to work which I'm not taking home just yet. This is nothing compared to my colleague who has had his (new unused) wetsuit in the office since November.
    I confessed to the bike shoes.

I tried to explain that they would make me quicker. A mistake. "Pedal faster" I was told.

We're going shopping tomorrow.
  • md6md6 Posts: 969
    I tend to hide lots of things to aviod the GAT they would incur, you could almost say that I am a GAT evasion expert... i think this came up in another thread about the things which are hidden from partners etc... I hid bike shoes, pedals, tri shorts and Garmin 405 at work until the gf was a way for a weekend, then snuck them home so she wouldn't notice

http://forum.220magazine.com/tm.asp?m=27501&mpage=5&key=garmin&#28679
  • garyrobertsgaryroberts Posts: 869
    I'm under investigation by the Tax Women (the wife). I need a good W.A.T evasion accountant, failing that i need your very best methods of righting off as much as possible. My guess is that collectively we can shrink my W.A.T bill by as much as 75%. So, what can you do for me?
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    garyroberts wrote:

I'm under investigation by the Tax Women (the wife).... So, what can you do for me?

No, No, No. You have it all wrong, evasion will get you nowhere, except a one way ticket for the fast train to troubleville.

Key principles:

1. Never, ever, ever lie. You will be found it. Things will be far, far worse.

2. It is always better to ask for forgiveness, than for permission.