Home Chat General Chat

Swimming with fewer strokes

Hi all. As a swimming beginner I wanted to share a tip I learnt from the BeginnerTriathlete website. They recommended slowing down your stroke, relaxing and trying to glide in order to reduce your number of strokes per length. I tried this today and was able to go from about 33strokes/length (in a 33m pool) to about 25strokes/length. My speed per length was a couple of seconds slower, but I hope this will improve with practise.

I was really chuffed with this as it was looking like I'd kind of reached a plateau with my swimming and was thinking some other beginners out there can benefit from it.

P.s. I was wondering if times for say a 100m swim can be comparable between a 25m pool and a 33m pool (or a 50m pool)? With the smaller pools will the times be quicker as you are pushing off the wall more often? Just wondering if there's anything in this or if I'm just talking nonsense.

Comments

• husslerhussler Posts: 237
    I do alot of distance per stroke work, probably in half my swim sessions i do! i highly recommend it.