Home Chat General Chat

Total Noob Question

hi deepblue, what most people wear under wetsuits is either trisuits or tri top, bottom. both the suits and bottoms will have some padding but not as much as bike specific shorts. in tri spec cycle shoes they have a more comfortable interior so the need for socks is minimal. i personally still use socks for t2. hope this helps. nick

Comments

• Have just got back into running after a 6 month layoff through injury and have decided to give Triathlon a go. If nothing else it will vary my training regime.

Picked up a copy of the 220 beginners guide and after reading it have a couple of what may be really dumb questions.

In transition from swim to bike do people wear socks to ride in? If not, what about the run, cannot imagine running any distance without padded socks!

Second question. I have to run with long cycling type shorts (without the crotch padding) to prevent chaffing.

In all the races i've seen on the TV people tend to strip off wetsuits from the swim then keep the same shorts on for the bike and the run. Does that mean they are running in padded shorts?

Said they were noob questions.[:)]
  • Nick.

Thanks for the prompt reply. I also ride mountain bikes off road so need reasonable padding for that, but i suppose 20k or so on a road bike means less padding required so would probably get away with Tri specific suit or bottoms.

So much to learn , so much pain to go through!

Thanks again
  • learnerlearner Posts: 100