Home Chat General Chat

Pain in the rear - literally

Anyone able to help explain or resolve this one for me?

I have a dull ache in the back of my leg and up into the lower part of my buttock. It gets worse if I sit or drive and never hurts when I'm running, cycling, swimming etc.

It's not high enough to be sciatica (could be a dodgy spelling there! not sure) and I'm guessing it might be hamstring related but I'm not sure.

I was just wondereing if anyone else suffers with it?

Comments

• SamutriSamutri Posts: 143
    I get the same pain in my bum - suspect mine is caused by an old hamstring injury and its the scar tissue aching with my rapidly advancing years.

I'm no doctor but I suspect yours will turn out to be hamstring related - you may have tweaked it a little and its just reminding you it needs to recover!

Get thee to a physio.
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    It's not high enough to be sciatica

Sciatica, depending on flavour, can be felt as pain and/or numbness and/or tingling anywhere from your lower vertabrae down to your toes. You can't discount it based on location.

Regardless, see a doctor for an appropriate diagnosis and referral, unless your doctor is as good as mine - in which case she will ask me what I think, then give me some Ibuprofen and tell me to go away.

I'm not a medical person, by the way, but I have suffered sciatica.