Home Chat General Chat

Race belts

Total newbie question but it's been bugging me since my last race;

What are you supposed to do with a race belt?

I've gathered the whole "wrap it around your waist and clip together" bit but how do people attach the numbers?

The long lengths of elastic and the friction lock toggles seem excessive when you could just safetly pin the number to the belt.

Descriptions/pictures of how different people wear theirs would be really helpful.

Comments

• on mine that I bought it clips together at the waist as you say - but then it has two little dangley clips (think clips on braces to hold up trousers) that clip to the number and hold it in place.

Simple really.. and I'm a newbie to! :)

bought from wiggle

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Run/8/Nathan_Race_Number_Belt/5360036105/

• LindsLinds Posts: 124
    The long lengths of elastic and the friction lock toggles seem excessive when you could just safetly pin the number to the belt.

Descriptions/pictures of how different people wear theirs would be really helpful.

[/quote]

Ah

I was so paranoid about my number falling off (and therefore getting disqualified) during ym first tri that I used the toggles AND safety pins.

I was most worried about the number on the bike ride, but now realise that isn't a problem and the wind doesn't whip it about as i feared it might, so won't bother with the safety pins next time.
  • en51nmen51nm Posts: 41
    Okay, so very newbie question here... You don't swim with a number, but during T1 you put this belt on which has your number attached? I'm guessing that stays on for the run as well?

Is there a "Transition" guide around anywhere, it's the only thing I think I haven't "trained" for yet!

Nick

• Normally race belts with number on back while on the bike, get to transition and swing it around to the front for the run, well thats what we have to do here in Oz, but who knows what you do in Uk/Europe after reading Bennys posting about transition boxes.