Home Chat General Chat

Online Help !!!

Hi everyone, I am a forum virgin although I do subscibe to 220 Triathlon Magazine every month. I would just like some advice on juggling work/home life and training.

I am a firefighter and work 2 days followed by 2 nights and then have 4 days off. I am also a fairly new Dad with a 4 and a half month old daughter. I am just curious if anyone has any advice if there is a decent training schedule online with a virtual/personal that can be worked around my hectic life.

I have just completed my first classic distance and got a respectable 2:55 time but I want to step it up a bit now and wondered if anyone knows what to do. I joined a Tri Club but because my days off change every week, I can do 3 nights at the club but then have to miss 5. It doesn`t really make the Tri Club a good move (training wise or financially) !!!

Just wondered if anyone else is in the same situation..... Firefighters..... Please help !!!!!!!!!

Steve

Comments

• Chris JChris J Posts: 71
    You could always go on strike![:)]
  • Hi Steve, well done on the time and good luck on stepping it up.

Fortunately don't have the work schedule you have but have other committments so have to be selective with training.

Not in best position to offer much advice, but will say that as I'm 24 weeks through a 30 week program as suggested in the Don Fink Book 'Ironfit' someone in your position has to prioritise.

Look at what time you have, your strengths/weaknesses and how you could fit your schedule around work.

I have only just joined a club this year and the advice i receive at the cycle, run and brick sessions has been outstanding, not to mention great for morale and keeping the boredom away. Would not rule out the club despite your work pattern as I'd put the club sessions ahead of any training. Haven't even tried the swim sessions yet.

My club costs 80 Euro to join - say 60 quid. Bargain.