Home Chat General Chat

Is there such a thing as the 'right training program'?

Hi All,

I have been training now for the past 3 months for all of the 3 disciplines and I am seeing some good improvements across the board. However the problem of fitting work, family and training into the week is proving hard..... This week I have just gone through pure exhaustion, I feel the constant high of my training sessions but I have noticed that the improvement is not happening quite as quickly as I had hoped.

My worry is I am over training (if there is such a thing) and not getting the balance right across the disciplines. I am currently following a training plan I found on runners world which is good but has anyone any advice on methods to gain the max from my training without burning out????

Help on this matter would be appreciated, I am so determined to complete my first olympic tri next summer!!

cheers

Dave

Comments

• bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    Welcome to the world of tri!

Trying to fit everything in is one of the hardest parts.Getting up at 5 am for that pre-work training swim or run, late night turbo's,...

On the other hand training hard is not getting you anywhere without good nutrition! and enough rest/recovery. Don't go all out all the time, train smart!!

Read this forum for all info or ask specific questions to ask others opinions, be consistent and you'll get there in the end.( defo if finishing a tri is your goal).
  • bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    For the 'right training program', you could read a couple of books to get you on the subject, for instance: Joe Friel's "triathlete's training Bible".

Or you could join a club/ get personal coaching.

• BoycieBoycie Posts: 189
    I will echo what Benny says about nutrition and rest. Giving your body time to recover is just as important for improving fitness as training itself.