Home Chat General Chat

another tri newbie

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to triathlon and need some help, advice, guidance on the best way forward.

For starters: How should I structure my training?

I'm entering my first race in May (a sprint).

I'm fairly fit - run 10k in 42 mins, do regular biking, but as yet no swimming.

How should I start?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Start swimming. The rest may take care of itself & will fall into some kind of routine.
  • jacjac Posts: 452
    Any advice on how often I should swim?

And are there any good training plans I can access?

Thanks
  • hay been swimming for years depending on how long you can train for at time really...

should start off with getting a base line for were you are at say 500m or 1000m to see how fast you can go at the beggining!

if you google training programs for swimming then there are some good sugestions. i would do a few 50m sets then do a few 100m sets on freestlye.

hope this was a little usefull!!

• GHarvGHarv Posts: 456
    I did my first sprint with 400m pool swim in may last year.

I started first by doing the distance breaststroke which i could do fine.

Then gradually brought in 1 then 2 then 3 etc. lengths front crawl until i could do the distance crawl.

From there began upping distance, joined the tri club swimming sessions - was at the back and couldn't keep up, kept going began keeping up and got one of the coaches to help me with technique.

Now i'm at least mid pack at the sessions.

I swim at least once a week preferably 2. 1 hour at the swim club then another session mid week for half hour 40 mins.

I try to train with 2 swims, 2 runs and 2 bikes.

Whilst i aint the fastest it fir around me and i'm definatley getting faster.

G
  • bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    Hi jac,

is that sprint tri open water or pool swim?

If it is open water,you should defo get some OW practise.

One other hint: swimming=80%technique+20%fitness!!!