Home Chat General Chat

Hamstring sorness from cycling...

Hi everyone

I'm still very new to tri and am on a very steep learning curve, after a few meduim-long runs out on the bike i have found that i am aggravating my hamstring (semitendinosus - thats the one that you can feel if you put your hand around the back of your knee from the outside (just above your knee actually)).

Just on one leg......and always the same one. I am guessing it is because i must be pulling the pedal up on that particular side and this is causing the problem.

Has anyone got any experience of this and if so do you have any advice?

Thanks[;)]

Comments

• TommiTriTommiTri Posts: 879
    first off how well is your bike fitted?

Because if you have fitted it using measurements, and to some degree even with a proper bike fitting it may not account for inflexibility in the hamstrings, which may cause you to feel strain in them as they are overstretching at the bottom of the stroke.

I used to have quite poor hamstring flexibility due to playing football i think, and I never did much stretching etc. So when I set up my bike I had to start off with the saddle a cm or 2 lower than the height suggested by my inseam.

This has gradually resolved and I am much more flexible now, which makes aero position a lot easier!
  • Ive been having a similar issue and for all the rehab and injury prevention work I have done it seems to of got better but I would definitely suggest bringing your seat down slightly so that the hamstrings are not put into too much of a stretched position.

The reason I had my problem was because I had an exercise induced leg length discrepancy. Basically because the muscles around my right hip had become so tight it meant that my right leg was about 1cm shorter than my left leg. This meant that although my seat height was fine for my left it was causing me to overstretch on my right hence getting the pain.