Home Chat General Chat

HR Monitor Advice

Hi Folks,

Just wondering if anyone could reccommend the right sort of multisport HR monitor to use? I am keen to get something that is not only an excellent training aid but is also user-friendly (ie: I am not very technical!) Model and best place to buy? Hope you can help

Thanks...

Comments

• BoycieBoycie Posts: 189
    Hi there,

I think the first things you need to think about is what you require from your HRM and how much you are willing to spend. As the number of functions go up, so will the price, and there is no point spending extra for something you won't get the most out of.

As far a makes go, both Polar and Suunto are very popular, but I'm sure that others will recommend other makes too. I wouldn't try and guess which is the best model without knowing your requirements and price range, but both of these makes have a good variety of models.

The best place I've found for HRM's is www.heartratemonitor.co.uk. they offer a good range and the cheapest prices that I've come across.

Hope this helps a bit.

David.
  • TesseractTesseract Posts: 280
    220 did a review of HRMs a while back, toward the end of last year I think. I can't remember their recommendation, but they had to recommend about three due to price ranges.

Like Boycie says it's down to what you really need/ want out of it. I've got the basic Polar model, just has heart rate and stopwatch on it. That's been fine for me so far. I have been thinking about forking out for a more expensive model recently, as I've been looking at some of the online training programs that work with downloaded data from HRM sessions, however decided to spend the cash on upgrading some bits on my bike.
  • Free WillyFree Willy Posts: 63