Home Chat General Chat

Newbie looking for some help

Hi all I'm just starting out with tri - am planning on doing the Henley Sprint then either another sprint or standard Tri (depending on how i get on with Henley). I am after some advice on kit. I have seen there seems to be a bit of advice, i.e. buy Red and buy Expensive [;)], but i'm really looking for something a little more specific. Sorry if this is the boring newbie kind of stuff you are fed up with answering...but I'll ask anyway. To start with, I have a hybrid which I am starting to train on, will this suffice for my first tri or two? I am hoping that it will as i don't want to spend more money, besides it has red bits, Also for the swim can i wear just a tri suit/shorts or should i look to wear something else? I am intending to get some shorts but before I do i thought i should check i can get away with just wearing those.

Well that's it for the moment...

Comments

• diddsdidds Posts: 655
    md6... you'll be fine. In time once you get hooked (and you will) the world is your oyster and your wallet will be empty, but in the meantime use your hybrid for your tris of course (unless you can borrow a road bike ;-).

If the swim is in a lake (dunno Henley) you'll maybe need a wetsuit, but these can be hired for as little as £25 for the season (TriUK in Yeovil) otherwise pool based swims your speedos would do ;-) A tri suit will be more than fine.

If you have to spend money on anything prolly your best expenditure at this moment (if you don;t already own a pair) is a pair of running shoes.

Oh - you WILL need a bike helmet.

enjoy :-)

didds

• Hi