Home Chat General Chat

Newbie: London Triathlon Sprint, is there time?!

Go fot it. Providing you can already swim, bike an run that is. You're looking at completing the whole thing in about 90-120 minutes, so it's a long'ish gym workout, only far more fun.

Comments

• TriIceTriIce Posts: 2
    Hi everyone,

Total newbie to the sport and the forum. I have been thinking about starting in triathlon for around a month or so, since one of my friends got involved in the sport at the beginning of the year.

I have been offered the chance to do the Mazda London Triathlon in August and to participate on behalf of a charity. Now I would love to take part as it would be great to help the charity out but I am concerned that I don't really have enough time to get ready for the race.

I am in reasonably good shape just from regular gym visits, swims etc but I haven't been focused on getting in shape for a race yet.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to whether or not I am trying to do too much, too soon in taking up the place.

Just as a reminder the distances are: 750m Swim / 20km bike / 5km run. So am I asking for trouble, and possible humiliation, in trying to take part with just under 2 months within which to get ready?!

Thanks for any replies and advice!
  • MowfMowf Posts: 272
    Like the man says - the distances are all achievable to anyone with a decent level of fitness, it just depends on how fast you want to go.

If you are a weak swimmer, that's where you probably want to focus.
  • md6md6 Posts: 969
    I agree that you should go for it, and it is definately achieveable. I would suggest that you try each distance individually but on the same day and see how you cope, then you will also know where to focus the training.
  • u_j_2001u_j_2001 Posts: 47
    Go for it!

I recently did my first sprint tri having done only 5 running sessions previously and none more than 4.5km, yet managed to finish (and enjoy) in a decent time.