Home Chat General Chat

First tri race report from dorney lake

Bit overdue but here's the race report for my first tri at dorney, goes on a bit so sorry

My race really started on Saturday at Conehead's rookie day, which gives serious bang for buck. Coaching by Rick Kiddle, bike setup by Mike from Bridge Town and of course Mr Conehead himself with endless advice. I won't labour the point but if you haven't been on one of these days, I'd highly recommend going. Obviously I'm no expert on tri courses but I doubt I would have posted a time of 1:12:46 for my first tri without the transition advice. Annoyingly my chip must have been faulty as I didn't get split times so don't know how long transition was, but it felt fast.

So on Sunday it was up at 7am (for a leisurely 11:30am start). Had usual weekend training porridge (laced with honey, walnuts and seeds) and threw all the kit in the car that I must've checked over a billion times the night before. Already hot at 8am... Double check sun cream is in bag.

Arrived at the venue and straight into the Tri and Run tent to get lock laces (to take locks off for fitting to my own laces as per Conehead's advice).

Faffed like a preening duck for 15mins setting up in transition while I got everything just so. The only bugger for me is wearing glasses so had to leave specs in helmet and wander around like a loon in my prescription goggles- tho by that time I was in the tri suit so past caring about looking silly- function over form everytime for me

Waited around in the shade with the future Mrs Chappers and was surprisingly calm... Time came to put the sweatsuit on and the butterflies started. Applied voltarol to dodgy shoulder and zipped up.