Home Chat General Chat

Bad tummy pains after long swim

Hello, Im a newbie at triathlons and have a little problem.

I really enjoy swimming, and have done well training, but after swimming for a while, without stopping, once i get out i start having crippling stomach pains. I can only assume this is trapped wind. It only eases if i lie down on bed and umm, wait for the moment to pass (to put politely). Obviously when racing, i cant lie down and wait for my stomach aches to go away. I was wondering if anybody else has had experience with this and what you do/did to overcome it!

Any suggestions will be much appreciated!

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    For further advice read 'most embarrasing tiathlon ' thread...but seriously..wild guess here but do you rush your breathing & gulp your air in? If so you are swallowing a fair bit of O2..& it has to go somewhere. If this is so, then slow down, practice breathing drills. If none of this is the case....anyone else. Oh maybe food choices before swimming?
  • Thanks for your reply.

Generally my breathing during swimming is nice and relaxed as the swimming is my strongest discipline(its only on the run when i start breathing out of my backside).

When I start swimming faster and really going for it, obviously my breathing does get harder. I'll have to check and see if Im gulping.

I swim first thing in the morning after my night shift, and haven't eaten since teatime the day before, only a couple of bits of fruit. I also swim sun morns, but don't have breakfast until after i finish training(a nice bacon bap). Can eating something small, or having a hearty breakfast before help?

I might be adding to the embarrassing moments threads soon if i cant manage to solve my little problem!! haha.
    Damn..I so liked my gulping answer...maybe it is lack of food &/or fruit may not be ideal, some folks can get a fermentation thing going on..with predictable results.