Home Chat General Chat

Drinking while run training.

Hi All,

Im new to triathlon (Trying my luck at a sprint in South Cerney in june)

Although my question is more to do with my run training, i have done a few 10ks and a 10mile, and usually train either a 5k or 11k circuit, but find that i start getting really thirsty on my longer circuit. I have tried carrying bottles which i find too much of a pain and end up necking it after 500m so i can bin the bottle, eventually found a quality 20ltr berghaus with a 2ltr hydration pouch fits me nicely and is comfortable to run in. Although it does start to slosh a bit between 1/2 to 1/4 full.

How do you guys get round this? or do you just tough it out? Wanna start pushing the distance a little further with a view to doing a marathon, and general endurance.

Comments

• diddsdidds Posts: 655
    I tend to try and use

*a short loop several times where i can leave a drink at a point and top up as I pass, or
    *I'll cycle the route before hand (sort of mini-brick!) and drop off bottles at various points en route. keeping "old" 300 ml coke bottles etc is a boon here 'cos it means you can dump them afterwards if needed and not worry about going back to retrieve your £4.50 squirt bottle! [NB: Don't litter of course]
    *a bit like the above... on an out and back route I might carry a drink "so far" then leave it and have it on the way back
    *a route that passes friends houses so I just call by and have a drink as needed. Or take some cash and use a shop that you know you pass.

didds
  • ashthetashashthetash Posts: 164
    There are various hydration systems out there. The bladder is a good idea but I'm not sure that there is much you can do about the sloshing.