Home Chat General Chat

Clinchers or Tubs?

okennyokenny Posts: 231
I want to get some fast(er) wheels for my TT bike...on some normal ones right now (Aksium Race)

I was thinking about some carbon deepish wheels, but I have noticed that the vast majority of such wheels available are Tubs......(there seem to be exceptions - i.e. Zipps - but MANY are tubs)

I have no experience with tubs.....what are the advantages/disadvantages with regard to triathlon?

Thanks guys!

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    One of the main differences is weight.

Tubs are lighter than clinchers.

The old debate tubs v clinchers is well documented and many people will use clinchers for training and tubs for racing, as I do.

I find that my tub wheels are a lot faster than my training clinchers but thats like comparing an apple with an orange.

Tubs, initially are awkward to change, they take a fair bit of time and in a race you can pretty well call it race it over unless you are amazing at changing tubs. Some people carry pitstop which is a foam filler that seals the tub puncture and allows you to continue racing, however not everyone likes that stuff.
    You can either glue a tub onto the wheel or use tub tape - the later being the easiest option.

Clinchers are much easiers to change but with the additional of the alu rim, they are much heavier.
  • okennyokenny Posts: 231
    Thanks for the great reply....

all along the lines of what I have heard.
    I want some fast wheels, but I don't want a situation where in my IM next year I have to drop out because I can't change my puncture........
    The pros change punchtures all the time (Chrissis was able to do it in a flash, with a slight mishap) - are they using chinchers or tubs?
    Chrissie uses clinchers.... the old cliche race in what you train. But then she's got amazing power to turn those clinchers over.