Home Chat General Chat

Turbo trainer Vs Rollers

Hi all,
I am very new to Triathlon (having completed 2 sprint's over the last few months!?), but been 'roped' into UK IM 70.3 in june!!!
I need to continue to build my 'base' aerobic fitness and strength over the winter and I keep hearing reference to turbo trainer and rollers.
So what are peoples thoughts of these trainers? Is it purely personal preferrance or is one better for tri training?
The rollers seem to require more technique but do they still build strength/fitness in the same way, ie like the turbo's seem to?
Thanks for any thoughts
Cheers Steve.

PS anyone around the Southport area who wants to hook up for some training sessions?

Comments

• there might be a similar thread on the general chat bit i think! i've got a turbo which works well enough! there was some rollers stuff last month in 220, so i can't say which is best - though with my balance, the turbo is at least heavy and supported!
  • Turbo trainer compared to rollers.

Both are very good especially when it’s not safe to train outside.
    You need to set the turbo up so it mimics the effort you put out on the road
    This can be tricky and time consuming but worth it.
    You need to do some road riding and made notes of your speed cadence compared to various heart rates on the flat.
    So when you train at your threshold the speed corresponds to the speed you would do on the road. Yes it is a great feeling to cycle 10 miles in less than 20 minutes

Set your tyre pressure the same to get a accurate comparison. With no wind rain road surface changes you get a good comparison speed and heart rate.

Roller training
    I have found rollers to be best to improve smooth cycling when you start cycling.
    After 2-3 years then progress to a Turbo.
    Cheaper alternative to expensive rollers, just get on and ride.
    They work with 3 drums attached to a frame and rubber band between the front and rear roller.