Home Chat General Chat

Nutritional advice

Ive just completed by first year of sprint triathlon. I just started training for my second year (2weeks in) for an olympic season with hopes of qualifying for GB age group event. My training is going well. Trying to fit in 8hrs a week on a 3wk high 1 wk light stratagy. The only thing im concerned about is nutriation. I don't drink and very keen on a good diet to aid my triathlon training and recovery.

I generally have

Bran flakes and toast for breakfast 8AM
porridge oats mid morning for training 10AM
Banana and oat bar/cearal bar before training 12
Training - home made sports drink 12:30PM
tuna and rice/pasta after training 2 pm
Snack 4 PM
Evening meal 6PM
Something before bed. milk or some protein 9pm

The problem is im always hungary and wake up quite hungary. Im afraid to over eat or eat alot before bed. I have an extremly high metabolism which doesn't help.

Can someone give some pointers on nutrition and fluid intake

Comments

• wyno70wyno70 Posts: 189
    All above sounds very good, I wish I was nearly as disciplined!!

All I can think is are you drinking enough fluid?
  • When, it comes to fluid i always carry around a 800ml sis bottle,fill it regular with water and drink throughout the day. Im also quite dehydrated in the morning, urine is very dark. seem to sweat alot at night even when cold outside. When it comes to drinking I like to drink until urine is clear but also cautious of over drinking especially water. It can take a while to do this sometime s to midday. I add sea salt to my home made sports drinks when training. How much is enough?
  • Hi ministryofsound

General rule of thumb for energy requirements:

Carbohydrate requirements: 6-10g per kg bodyweight per day
    Protein requirments: 1.2-1.6g per kg bodyweight per day
    Fat requirements: 25% of total energy

Eg. for 70kg athlete

Carbohydrate = 420g-700g per kg bodyweight per day (at 4kcals per gram = 1680kcals-2800kcals per day)