Home Chat General Chat

Why tighten cleats

I have been cycling for a couple of years and have always wondered why I should tighten my cleats??? They are currently as loose as they can be. Surely it makes no difference to your speed you just fall over more often at traffic lights

Comments

• nivaghnivagh Posts: 595
    Try bunny hopping over a pothole with loose cleats
  • My commuter is on the loosest setting in case of emergency (london commute). Personal preference I guess, but having had a few near misses in the past with my feet firmly stuck, I'm as loose as a goose.
  • nivaghnivagh Posts: 595
    I seem, unexpectedly, to be in the minority. I definitely couldn't ride with the pedals set so loose that my feet would pop out in a sprint though.
  • I misunderstood this thread initially, I couldn't understand why someone would want to cycle around with their cleats loosely attached to their shoes. Now I realise it's to do with cleat retention spring tension it makes more sense. Anyway, it's each to their own. If you;ve got very low retention then there is a greater risk of your cleats becoming un-clippedaccidentally, which if it occurs during a power phase of your pedal stroke can result in a loss of control of the bike as you swerve to correct. But then if you have them too tight, it's difficult to un-clip which can cause some distress.
  • BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Left foot looser than right..in traffic its my get out leg/foot.
  • risris Posts: 1,002
    same here - left foot much looser. i even felt inclined to give the left pedal tension half a turn the other week to give it a bit more bite - it was starting to feel a little sloppy on unclipping.