Home Chat General Chat

What should a 'rookie' upgrade on a secondhand bike?

Hi all,

Managed to purchase a secondhand Giant OCR4 for next to nothing as an entry level bike. Same as this one-

http://archive.giant-bicycles.com/uk/03 ... odel=10252

I am no expert on bike maintenance, far from it infact and being a girl probably somehow goes against me but i'm certainly willing to give things a try (provided my bike is safe!).

Theres a few things I need some help with if you don't mind offering some words of wisdom?

1. The bike came with Shimano PD-A515 pedals, I have researched the cleats I would need to go with these (about £15). The pedals are in good condition, but i don't know if its worth changing them if a new set of pedals comes with cleats anyway, any thoughts? If it helps i've seen some SIDI road shoes I like so I'd like the pedals to be compatible.

2. I think I need a shorter stem (I can reach the gears, brakes safely but my arms are fully stretched). Current stem measures 130mm, is there anyway to calculate what stem I should buy? I'm thinking 80mm but not sure if i'm then going too short. Would you recommend an adjustable stem as I may want to put clip on aero bars at some point (will this make any difference?)

3. Is a 7sp cassette going to hold me back? If so how easy is this to upgrade?

4. Other imminent upgrades I'd like to do include a new chain, some continental ultra gator duraskin tyres and I guess it should have a service of some kind. I feel a bit overwhemed at doing these bits myself but want to learn. Anyone know any friendly LBS in Birmingham area that could do it while i observe?

Sorry for the long post, if you can't help on any of the above I'd still welcome opinions any other recommended upgrades for rookies I may have missed!

Comments

• Hi ajdj

I'm gonna have a go at answering some of your questions!