Home Chat General Chat

Staying motivated when injured

Hi all

I've been doing tris for a couple of years now, was getting pretty happy with the way things were going in the 2011 season and looking at IM entries for 2012 until I did my shoulder a rather serious mischief in August. Now I'm on the other side of shedloads of physio, scans and nerve conduction tests, waiting on a diagnosis with the potential for surgery in the New Year. Physio, doctor and surgeon think it's either an impingement or a torn rotator cuff, but come up with a new diagnosis every time I see them.
Worse than this is the fact that I can't do any form of training without ending up in a fair amount of pain. I thought spinning and low-level core exercises would be alright but apparently not. So my doctor has signed me off all things physical and I'm going crazy. Also getting paranoid about the fitness I'm losing, especially with Christmas approaching and all those tasty mince pies just begging to be eaten!

Has anyone else been in this sort of situation, and how did you deal with it?

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Last year after completing IMUK I went through hell with injuries and its really hard but you have to face up to the fact that we are not robots and that injuries can and will happen.

I tried in vain to train through my knee problems and I was heading to Abu Dhabi the following March and with the weeks passing and fitness dropping like a stone I was seriously struggling to get through the issues. Eventually I had to just stop training as it was only making it worse but i did receive from superb advice in respect of my injury from Conehead who no longer posts here.

The best thing you can do is to stop trying to train through. Go away and get to know the wife/ husband/ or whatever. Do something different but you have to stop thinking about the injury as the harder you try to get over it then it will eat at you.