Home Chat General Chat

Improving my race pace

I am new to this site and I would welcome any advise. Yesterday I competed in the Hillingdon Duathlon, a 6Km run followed by 25Km bike. My run split was 43:16, I suffered badly with a low abdominal stitch which made it difficult to breath and I ended up having to take a walk break much to my frustration. My last training run of the distance was 48:36. I really want to be able to run quicker, does anybody have any advise or at 46 is this as good as it gets for me, I didn't mind coming last in the race and when I compared my result to the 2009 event i had improved by about 9 mins!! So I guess it is not all bad!!

Any help grafefully received.

Comments

• SuperSonicSuperSonic Posts: 18
    I'm no expert but I am 44 and very much an amateur and I have certainly not given up on improving my running times.

You don't say what your training is like, but if you're running round an 8k loop twice a week then you may find that you improve slowly. I do my training and then every few weeks I run a fixed course and I time it. If I look at my times over the last 12 months, the slowest time is about 42m and the fastest is 36m 20s so I'm still improving.

Training wise I do a variety of different running sessions - some to improve my endurance such as longer slower runs, some to improve my speed such as short fast sessions or intervals.

I've also changed my cadence when running - I was feeling like I was lumbering on long strides and so I've sped up my stride and reduced the length slightly which makes me feel lighter and more efficient.

Hope that helps