Home Chat General Chat

New to Triathlon London Challenge

I'm new to triathlon and wanted to tell my story so far, which will hopefully do one of the following three things:

1) Inspire other people to have a go

2) grab some tips from all you "old timers"

3) generate some support for my charity

It all started back in January. I went back to work on 3rd Jan and went to weigh in and toped the scales at 17 stone 13lbs. (Ok I can hear the gasps) everyone at work thought about having a good go at loosing weight but the calling from the local shop serving breakfast was all too much. One of the lads competed in the tough guy competition over in Wolverhampton and after a few jokes that night and needless to say a couple of beers somebody bet me that I couldn't complete a triathlon. I had to prove him wrong! (Its the honorable thing to do)

I'm 24 now and up until the age of 18 was very fit. My main sport was swimming but also played alot of school boy rugby and waterpolo. A mixture of things including starting work, drinking and meeting various ladies put a drastic holt to any training I did and got me to the state I was in in January.

I searched a few websites and read various forums and found out about the London Tri and promptly entered the sprit distance, without really thinking about what would be involved. (Well it ment i had to do it!) The first aim has obviously been to loose some of the weight and now having lost 2.5 stone the training is starting to get easier. In some respects I'm quite lucky because I do kind of have the disipline to stick to a training schedule and I've got a lot of friends who have been involved in tri's in the past.