Home Chat General Chat

Everything WIMBLEBALL the thread

13»

Comments

• donkeydonkey Posts: 4
    [:)] I Did it!!!!!!

Someone has to be first to say this!

As you may know, I am new to triathlon and this was my first event!!!

I was the last person out of the water with only 12 seconds to spare - told you I was a breast stroker. They counted me out - which was more stressful than the swim!

I was over the time limit by 20 mins on the bike so I had my chip removed, but I was determined to continue as I was chuffed with my bike ride (honestly it was a 30 min improvement on the course for me!).

The run was okay but as I was nearly last overall, it was quite lonely on the 2nd two laps - 2 other ladies kept passing me and we knew we could keep going. Thanks to them both for exchanging smiles.

It took me just on 9 hours, but I am so glad I persevered. I enjoyed the whole experience.

I felt sorry for my family who had to wait to see if I survived the swim and then had to wait an additional 3 hours after my husband finished to see me cross the line. He passed me on the bike course at exactly the point he said he would - spooky.

So, thanks to everyone who supported me on the bike - it was great to hear positive comments from the speedy ones.

Huge congratulations and respect to all of you, whether you beat your p.b. or just had a great half-ironman like me.

[:)]

xxxx

• NickNick Posts: 66
    congratulations to all who finished wimbleball. as a novice to tris hats off to you all.[:D]
  • RobRob Posts: 209
    Well done all who finished the course. Donkey, fantastic effort, well done!

Any more race reports?
  • pacrfishpacrfish Posts: 266
    Well done donkey - that was ace. It was a really tough day.