Home Chat General Chat

cycle storage solutions...help

[color=#191970]Hi, im a very keen cyclist and triathlete. Im also a student in my 3rd year of a 3d design course, for my major project I am designing a new style of bicycle storage system. The current style of galvanised steel tubes and concrete blocks have damaged my bikes on the past and dont prevent wheels etc being taken. I was wondering if any other cycling enthusiasts have bad stories regarding current designs and any suggestions for improvements or additions. What do you need from somewhere to lock your bike?

Please help me out with advice/comments etc.

Thanks.

Jon[/color]

Comments

• sisi Posts: 6
    Hi there,

My tuppence worth pretty much reflects what you mentioned but in order of precedence:

Secure back wheel without the need for more than one lock

If securing to a bar maybe allow it to move as bike frames etc are not always the same size

Maybe some rubber to avoid scratching

Cheers

• pigletpiglet Posts: 86
    I would agree with points raised. I have three bikes and all have different size tyres- I can usually guarantee that the bike stand provided by the council/store etc, won't fit the wheel of the bike I m parking. I do cycle touring and when loaded up (I don't have a stand) a stand that is too wide allows the bike to lean and can damage and buckle rims- due the weight of the bike(approx 35kg). I usually lean the bike against a wall.

So a stand with a variable width could be a great invention.

The other thing- pretty out there I know- but do fellow riders get fed up with dogs taking a pee against your pride and joy? Don't care too much about the MTB but panniers covered in dog p.ss not pleasant and I hate to know what urine would do to my lovely road bike. It's like they just see a bike and go "whee (scuse the pun) I can put my mark here!".

Maybe your stand could come inbuilt with automatic water skirter or dog dazer!

Happy inventing![:D]

• TTX PROTTX PRO Posts: 225