Home Chat General Chat

How do I convert a road bike to TT??

Hi,

As a student I don't really have a big budget to go out and buy a TT bike, and since I already have a fairly good road bike, I was wondering what would i need to convert the roadie to a TT, is pushing the seat forward with a seat angle of 78 or greater enough to make it TT capable??(with aero bars of course!)

has anyone tried the Profile design Fast Forward seat post??

Thanks

Chris

Comments

• jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    Hi,the profile fast forward was popular about 10 years ago,be careful if you have too many add ons the handling characteristics of you bike will go to pot.It may work out cheaper to source a cheap TT frame and transfer the components over.Also the bike is basically two triangles but by adding a fast forward seatpost the stress points will change and over use may see you in casualty.
  • The new Profile forward post is great. Not a lightweight but does the job of putting you in a steep seat angle. I also installed a 10mm longer stem to compensate.

Only drawback is it only comes in 27.2 so you will need an adaptor to use if your bike has a 31.6 seat tube.

[image]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v236/campled/RCLXentisbikes24.jpg[/image]

• TTX PROTTX PRO Posts: 225
    Get a TT Frame.TRY this link.you may be suprised.http://www.bellatisport.com/shop/category/148/Wilier_2007.html
  • Hi Chris

Some here seem to have missed your point that you don't have a lot of money to spare. Oh how it must be for those who can just go and buy a new frame or bike if they want one.....