Home Chat General Chat

Completely new to this...

Good evening all,

I've just entered the world of work, having had four blissful years of studentdom, and as part of it I've gone from being relatively fit to a wee bit tubby!

And I like a good challenge. I can (read could) run, and I like cycling, but I'm a self taught swimmer and as such it looks like I'm drowning - but with forward motion.

So I thought a good way to learn to swim would be to have a bash at a Triathlon, get past my expanding waist, and have something to focus on.

Swimming lessons start on Wednesday evening, and once I've got my bike sorted I'm planning on riding to/from work (11 miles - it's got to be better than the tube!) and maybe once I've got a few more miles under my belt taking on the run to work.

But my big question would be: when can I realisically be in a position to enter an event and not be pulled off the course for taking too long?

Also - any advice on training materials? I did the Cardiff marathon a year ago and went about training the wrong way - just ran about 10-16 miles three times a week for about 2 months before - and now have the tightest ham-strings in the world; not a mistake to be repeated!

Based in SW London.

Thanks.

Looks like I might get my housemate to do it too; it's always nice to have a training buddy - although he used to be rather good at the swimming... ah well, healthy competition!

And sorry if I'm repeating questions others have asked; I did have a bit of a forrage through the search section, and couldn't quite find what I was looking for

Comments

• Hi - welcome to tri. Definitely enter an event. You will not be pulled off. I can seriously recommend the tri sport epping try-a-tri for a first event. Everyone is a noob and you'll be fine. Website: http://www.trisportepping.co.uk/ Be warned though - it will make you hooked on the sport.