Home Chat General Chat

Training after the event

With London fast approaching for my first (sprint) Tri i was wondering how people approach training AFTER the event? How long before you get back into the swing what do you focus on next and at what intensity?

Also depending on how i get on with this one are there any other good beginer level tri after and how long should i leave between events etc?

Cheers

Comments

• triadtriad Posts: 62
    I've been doing triathlons for 4 years. I have to be pretty careful about balancing training, racing and general stretching because I suffer from a bad back from time to time (siatic rubbish). I used to stop for a couple of days after racing but not anymore. I recover much quicker if I have a massage post race and do some light non-intense training and plenty of stretching. Suggest swimming and cycling before returning to running which is clearely generically higher impact on the body. But hey what do I know as an amateur, I've just about managed to find out what works for me. And one other thing.......long live triathlon; I love the focus and discipline it takes to train to enjoy racing and I love the friendliness and spirit of the sport.
  • rpopper65rpopper65 Posts: 171
    Rungavinrun, the answer to your question requires a little more understanding of your individual circumstances. You ask about beginner triathlons, so maybe you consider yourself a beginner? Which of the London Tris are you doing (Sprint or Olympic?)?