Home Chat General Chat

Need speed on the bike

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I need some help getting faster on my bike. Just done my last race this year, and I think the 40k bike leg was pretty slow 1hr 18mins. Anybody have any tips on getting faster? I currently do 2 bike sessions a week, one sprints and then one distance

Comments

• try increasing ur cadience by about 15 revolutions a minute and u will notice the difference
  • I'm new to Triathlons and have just completed my first sprint Tri in September, and i'm hooked.

I'm a runner by background having completed several marathans some sub 3hrs so I've no issues with running, swimming is ok and I'll master crawl breathing one day.

My main issue is speed on the bike, I have a Specialized Sirrus 07 which I'm happy with for now, but I cannot seem to average more than about 17.5 mph.

Being new to cycling I've no idea if this is good,fair or poor and no real idea how to get faster.

What is a good average speed and how do I achieve it ? Is it just down to putting the miles in?

• hey u can buy about 3 minutes of your time if you remove ur bottles of the stem of the bike. i suggest u buy a profile degisn aero bottle that u put between ur aero bars. u can a beeter speed than not having one at all also getting bottle holders of ur seat post [/align]
  • rpopper65rpopper65 Posts: 171