Home Chat General Chat

What is the most important discipline in Triathlon???

bennybenny Posts: 1,314
What do you think is the most essential part for top finishing??

Is it the swim, bike, run, transition, nutrition, .....

I know its a really complicated mix that makes the champs, but what do you guys think is the one part that makes the most difference of them all and why?

Comments

• zoezoe Posts: 28
    In non-drafting races Cycling.

I'm rubbish at cycling and loose loadsa places in every race. I can usually make a lot back up on the run and have a relatively strong swim, but just can't compete with the cyclists.

only goes to show I need a new bike!

• Zoe- i know how you feel!! It sucks, im a fast swimmer and a quick runner, but my bike sucks.....I guess it's because im new to cycling (year and a half) and ive done the other two to a far higher level....

I didnt think they did drafting races in non elite races ( ive seen alot of drafting on TV with the pros) but never in reaces that i have been in....Is this pretty normal???

If anyone wants to do a Quadrathlon that is more focused on the run- do the Kindrochit quadrathlon- its a 1.5 k swim, a 15 mile run (up and down 7 mountains) then a 8 mile Kayack and then a 35 mile cycle. The running phase takes about 6 hours- so runners get thier own back finally!
  • BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    Swimming! Only because of the amount of energy you can waste in the swim because of poor form. Poor cycling or running technique WILL waste energy, of course, but nothing saps the calories quite like swimming badly.

You don't necessarily need to be quick in the water - unless you are planning on competing with the sub 20-minute swimmers - but you DO need to get out of the water feeling fresh.

Swimming more efficiently gives you loads more energy to go faster on the bike.