Home› Chat› General Chat

Bike lights

I'm brand new to cycling and have only just got my first bike. Now I'm after stuff to put on my Christmas list and the first thing that comes to mind is lights so that I can train in the evenings.

As a motorist I find flashing rear lights on bikes irritating. Not only do they draw your attention (bunny in headlight syndrome) so that you are not paying attention to any other hazards on the road (such as pedestrians) but I also find it harder to assess how far away the bike is compared to a bike with a constant light. I haven't noticed any difference with being able to see bikes with fixed lights (as long as they are bright enough) so why is it that cyclists seem to prefer flashing lights?

I think that a proper high vis jacket provides more safety to the cyclist (and I already have one of these for running that I can use for cycling) but lights are a legal requirement and do provide additional benefit.

Of course, up until now I have only experienced this from the motorists viewpoint, so I am interested to hear what cyclists have to say. So what does everyone else think? What should I put on my wish list?

Comments

• bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    I always watch for the lights to be with LED-lamps ,you know, the tiny lights that use almost no power, but give a very bright light. People from my work who pass me by car when I commute by bike,say that they can see me from very far. I suppose you dont really nee flashing lights as long as the permanent one is bright enough. But on the other hand, it won't harm you if you have a flashing one. Personal favour i guess.

Have you ever heard of ID-tags? That would be a great thing foryour wish list I think.
  • By ID-tags, do you mean identification so that if I have a medical problem / accident someone can find out who I am? Don't have one yet, but then I never run / cycle on my own. Something to consider for the future though.
  • tony btony b Posts: 57