Home Chat General Chat

swimmers cramp?

Can anyone out there help me? Everytime I swim front crawl I experience cramp in my calves. It happens after pushing away from the wall but is at its worse if just using front crawl leg kick on my back or front. My leg kick is pretty weak and the harder I try the quicker the cramp occurs. I have tried taking onboard fluid during training sessions but it makes no difference. What am I doing wrong? [:(]

Comments

• I have no words of wisdom but I do have the same problem. My calves are generally weak anyway and I have problems on long runs as well. Do your calves cause problems on runs as well or just swims?

Mike

• Hi Mike, no its just the swimming. I am new to this sport - did my first event last year, and this is the first time Ive done any real swim training. Last night I had to stop cos the cramp was so bad. Its so frustrating.
  • [:)]ive suffered with cramps when swimming .. i was told that drinking tonic water helps.. its worked for me... its the quinine... you can get quinine tablets as well... dont know if i spelling is correct?
  • Somebody raised a similar question in 220 a while ago. I think the problem was to do with pointing their feet instead of allowing the ankle to flex.
  • Calf stretches regulary, and if you've been training in other disciplines have you enough salt on board. That doesnt mean to say go ott with salt in your diet though.

I sometimes get cramp going from fc kick to bc kick but usually a stretch against the wall ccures it.

Our swim coach also said bananas can help as they have potassium? (or someething) in them.
  • Thanks 'the belly' (how rude does that sound?) dont like tonic unless accompanied with gin [:@]- and that wont help the swimming! However if it works I will give it a try (without gin). Do you drink it just before swimming or do you drink it as a matter of routine anyway? May try the tablet version.