Home Chat General Chat

new beginings

Hi to you all,just been reading a few and looks like a great forum.

I am new to the world of triathlon but coming from a background of running and long distance cycling,having just completed a ride this september from John O'Groats to Lands End in 12 days covering 905 miles.

Anyway i am now running upto 10 miles and cycling upto 20 miles and have just started swimming sessions with a local club.The only thing is i would like some advice on how to start putting it all together.

It's all great doing one each day but where do i go now.

I have three events booked for next year,two sprints here in Weymouth and olympic in London.

Look forward to speakin with you.[:)]

Comments

• Well, the best thing you can do is keep doing all three of those disciplines in a steady, enjoyable, progressive way. I would recommend you join a triathlon club in your area. If there is not one close by, then get a book or two on the subject - I like Joe Friel's other books and "Your First Triathlon" (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Your-First-Triathlon-Joe-Friel/dp/1931382859/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1196258497&sr=8-2) sounds like it might be good for you. Also, I've heard good things about "Triathlon 101" (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Triathlon-101-Karen-Smyers/dp/0880118113/ref=pd_bbs_sr_8?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1196258497&sr=8-8) and have ordered it for a friend for Christmas, so I hope it's good.