Home Chat General Chat

tri bike or aero wheels

I've been competing in tri's for the last two years using my trusty bianchi road bike with clip on bars.

I am now thinking purchasing a TT bike as i doing 1/2 IM this year, but i 've been told by a Time trialist that i will get just as much benifit with a good set of aero wheels and also a TT bikes are not so good hills. Could anyone throw a bit more light on this subject please.

Cheers

Lee

Comments

• TTX PROTTX PRO Posts: 225
    Im a time-trialist too and engineer and trust me TT bike they go like a bat out of hell going down hill and flats but trying to get them uphill can be challenging due to the gearing.Typical TT set up is 54-39/54-42 on the front and a 11-23/11-26 on the back where as on road bikes, the typical set up is 53-39 on the front and 12-26 on the back.if i was you ide go for some nice mavic kysrium SL wheels,fulcram racing zero or racing 1 or some roval fusee star wheels.
  • feesfees Posts: 28
    I have done 3 IM's on a road bike with clip on tri bars. Last year I got a Bianchi 928L with carbon strike clip on bars and 50mm deep section aero wheels. I can tell you that my bike split was far better than in the past and I put it down to the wheels. I have also considered a tri bike but to be totally honest can't justify that kind of money when I am not sure how often I will really use it for what it is intended.

My bike split last year was 5h43 on rolling hills and in tough wind, this year I am racing the exact same bike and hope to go sub 5h30. My advice, buy a nice set of racing wheels (tubbies).
  • Cheers guys, thats kinda what i wanted to hear, Slightly better on the wallet.

Happy training.

• I had the same dilemma so I'm well assured!!!
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242