Home Chat General Chat

New bike advice - Emmelle

Hi,

I am new to the world of cycling and am looking to purchase a bike. I don't want to spend too much on one just yet until I get more in to it so have looked on Ebay, I have seen one which I like the look/price of but as I know nothing about bikes don't know if its a good brand - it's an Emmelle.

Anyone know if they are any good?

Thanks,

Comments

• Are you really new to cycling or are you doing some surreptitious market research? [;)]

Well either way...

Emmelle aren't the first name on everyone's lips when it comes to sports bikes. I think they mainly do kids' bikes and girls' bikes without the crossbar, etc.

The only Emmelle bike currently on UK Ebay which isn't either a mountain bike or a kids' bike is this one:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Emmelle-Alpine-Classic-Touring-Bike-MENS-Blue-White_W0QQitemZ320211069168QQihZ011QQcategoryZ33503QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Is this the one you are looking at? For £30 you could have a ton of fun on that, but it will be relatively heavy. Also the gears are outdated but will presumably work. We all used downtube shifters at one time!

If you are on a very, very tight budget, and this bike is the difference between having a bike and not having one at all, then go for it. If you are looking to get serious about sports riding or triathlon then it's not the ideal race bike but it will be better than an MTB and it's a start. If I bought it I would replace the saddle, the silly safety brake levers and put on some Look pedals. Then I'd go for a ride and have a whale of a time!

If the bike I've linked to wasn't the bike you had in mind then post the correct ebay link and we'll have a look for you.

• shaziashazia Posts: 3
    Hey,

Here is the link to the one that I'm looking at [color=#800080]http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MOUNTAIN-BIKE-LADIES-EMMELLE-COUGAR-IN-GOOD-CONDITION_W0QQitemZ110218063483QQihZ001QQcategoryZ33503QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem[/color]