Home Chat General Chat

getting started.

Hello, as the name suggests I am only just starting out on this exciting journey that it triathlon. I have been reading info re entering events but keep seeing registration info regarding a BTA license. Do I need one to have a go? where do I get one? etc????

Any/all help advice welcome.

You may has guessed that I'm also quite new to this computer blog thing too, so please be patient as I am a bit of a computer biff.

Comments

• Hi there,

You dont need a BTA license to enter races but you do a discount when entering races if you have one,

You also get other perks.

Welcome to tri,

Lee

• hbhb Posts: 22
    Hello Mate

welcome to the tri game. its hard but enjoyable so have fun
  • learnerlearner Posts: 100
    thanks for that, "perks" you say??? discount off entry fee you say. now i'm properly interested. i have entered the hayle sprint event in august so given myself loads of time to train. My background is a bit of cycling and a few half marathons, but thid running straight after getting off the bike is a giggle (well it made my neighbours laugh) Ive read about the swimming techniques and lengthening my stroke etc, what is the concencus start with this or just get some pool time in and tweek it when i can do a reasonable distance.

i a have thirst for advice so don't worry if your advice sounds too basic.

cheers.

• The best advice i could offer are....

1. plenty of 'brick' training,this will stop you neighbours laughing! this is cycle run, run, cycle run and so onn... all in one session. I dont have a turbo trainer so i just use a 3 mile traffic free route for my bike leg, i complete this then quickly lock my bike then run a 1 mile route ending back at my bike. I gradually increase my pace off the bike, the last half mile i run at race pace. Usually repeat 3-4 times.

This has really worked for me