Home Chat General Chat

8 Weeks to train for UK Ironman 70.3 - help needed!

Hi all, i'm a big fan of the 220 Magazine and message board but this is my first post here. I am relatively new to Triathlons (did a few sprints last year) but have entered the UK Ironman 70.3 in June this year.

My background is in rowing which I have done to quite a high level, however a knee injury in the lead up the Henley last year put me out and so I learned to swim. I then missed most of the rowing season so decided to try Triathlons and loved them!

I am currently training for the Rowing Indoor Marathon on the 13th of April - yes, that is 26.2 miles on a Rowing Machine! After that I have just 8 weeks to change my training and re-peak for the Ironman.

I have been reading lots of literature on the subject but am not sure whether to start a micro base, build, peak, taper in the 8 weeks - or to do something else?

I am currently doing 5 x Ergos a week (2 x VO2 Max, 2 x Lactate, 1 x Long - racking up approx 70k a week), in addition I am doing 1 x swim, run and cycle - either a interval or long piece depending on time constraints and 1 weights circuit session. So my base fitness level is, I would like to think, pretty high - although my weight is also pretty high at about 92kg (only around 12% fat though).

What I need to know is how do I change my training from the day after my rowing Marathon for the Ironman. I was thinking along the lines of 9 sessions per week, with 3 per discipline and cutting out the weights to try and lose some muscle mass (i'm kinda worried about those hills!). I could naturally split that into 1 x vo2, 1 x lactate and 1 x long - with one of those as brick cycle/run. But what should I be doing with the different cycles?

My problem is compounded by the fact that i'm currently working in Rotterdam with work so a) I don't know any coaches/clubs out here and b) its completely flat!!!

Any help appreciated,

Jack

Comments

• rob4rob4 Posts: 13