Home Chat General Chat

newbie question

Hello,
Sorry to bother you with this (probably) stupid question. It's just that I'm
a 32 year old novice and don't know where to find my answer. I've been
riding for about two months and have an interest in racing, perhaps in
triathlons. I'm trying to find out if I'm genetically predisposed to be
successful at cycling. Tonight I rode 70 minutes taking in about 17+ miles.
I averaged around 90-95 rpm's for the entire ride with many times going over
100 rpm's for several minutes at a time. Even though I stopped after 70
minutes I felt I could still go on and on and on. The thing is, I don't know
if this is good, poor, excellent, or what exactly I should aim for. Any help would be
appreciated.
sincerely,
Christopher

Comments

• Hi Christopher,

I am a newbie myself, and have found that reading some of the recommended books for beginners is a great help. The easiest to digest is TRIATHLON 101, but if you have time constraints Eric Harrs Triathlon Training in four hours a week is great. It sounds to me as though you are getting a little stressed about it, don't, just enjoy it. Train hard (but sensible) and set your sites on a target (maybe your first tri, as I have done), and just build up to it. As they say, it takes years to build the groundwork fitness to be at your peak, so just enjoy the journey!!!

Hope this helps.

Andy[:D][:D][:D]
  • chischis Posts: 94
    Hi Christopher (gentlesavage)

Your first effort sounds promising to me especially if you felt good an could have carried on further. As a former PE teacher, experienced runner but fairly new to triathlon and duathlon I would applaud your efforts and encourage you to push on and have a go at a sprint event - sprint triathlon if you are happy to swim - but also a short course duathlon will give a real flavour of the multi-sport scene. Believe me the whole atmosphere is brilliant and such good fun.