Home Chat General Chat

Transferability of swim times

OK, I'm completely new to Tri but have entered the blenheim and london events and I've a question on the swimming stage I was hoping you could all give me your advice on.

I've never swum in a wetsuit in my life but have spent far too long in swim suit in the pool and as a result the swim stage is my strongest stage and where I aim to make the most progress through the pack.

Can anyone give me a good idea how alike pool swim times are to those in an open water tri race environment?

I understand it's considered slightly quicker to swim in a wetsuit but surely this is negated by an effective tumble turn in the pool? Not to mention the scramble at the mass start having a negative impact on a similar time.

As an example, my pool times are 08:58 for 750m and 19:11 for 1500m. Can I hope to get anywhere near this in the water? Please say yes!!

I am aware of course that I won't be putting in anywhere near the effort I would racing in the pool, 'cos I'll have to pace for the rest of the tri but I think you see my question.

Thanks!

Comments

• Oops, sorry, I've just read the reast of the forum and noticed someone else has already asked the exact same question some time ago. Bad form.

But what I was hoping for is has anyone got split times for a pool training session AND for a tri race swim leg to see the comparison?

This would be a big help thanks in advance.
  • MGMG Posts: 470