Home Chat General Chat

Which middle distance triathlon...

I would appreciate any opinions as to the what might be the most achievable domestic middle distance tri for a first timer. Swimming is my strongest area, whilst my cycling and running are slow but dependable! I do find I suffer with any hills on the run over standard distance events, and when running longer distances alone. This is no doubt in large part an inevitable and irritating legacy of years of smoking stupidity prior to my lungs being liberated by sense and activity, however I suspect I should avoid events like Bala and the New Forest!

Comments

• Hi there,

I'm a bit new at all this so I can't speak from experience but there was an article in 220 not long ago about this, it might have been in the beginners guide, basically they listed a few events and the terrain and how hard they were in each discipline. Also, if you're interested in joining the BTF their handbook gives a breakdown of every race ie hilly, undulating, flat etc.

Loads of the races have a website and they often give a course profile on there as well.

Hope you find one that suits!
  • dsk699dsk699 Posts: 20
    i've booked Vitruvian as my first middle distance event this year. May turn out to be an act of stupidity though!
  • NickNick Posts: 66
    hi all. i'm hopeing to entered the new forest middle at beulieu which has had a route change and now supposedly its a flater course. i have entered the vit as well, i've been realiably informed that its not as bad as people make it out to be, have to wait and see i guess. Train hard.
  • Hi, I did Vitruvian last year as my first foray into middle distance. A nice bike route and a flat run. Def not as hard as i was led to believe either!!

Doing it again this year together with some friends i've managed to rope in!!