Home Chat General Chat

Planet X Stealth for the unnaturally tall

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to triathlon, and definitely new to road bikes. I'm after a bit of advice really. I've had my head well and truly turned by the Planet X £999 superlight pro. However, at 6'5" I reckon the XL frame at 56cm will be way too small [:o]

Does anyone know if there's enough adjustment in the seat and handlebars to get around this?

Many thanks

Comments

• rj1265rj1265 Posts: 70
    I saw them at the TCR show last year and the XL stealth was def too small for me .... 6ft 7" [:@] will have to spend loads more money for similar spec bike !!!.

But its all about your body shape e.g. long legs, short torso etc etc. and the bike shape (horizontal top tube, semi-compact or compact) and make. I ride a 63cm Trek Road Bike and a 58cm Cannondale Road Bike, both manufacturers TT bikes I have tried I need the 62/63cm.

With the above knowledge and seeing the XL Planet X Stealth at TCR 2007, also the XL size Focus Tri Bikes were too small for me as well (I tried 1 at TCR this year).

The bottom line is I would always try a bike at my LBS before buying especially since I don't fit into the standard size ranges.

Am I too tall for triathlon !!! - wetsuits thats another whole can of worms (at least you can get custom made ones at reasonable prices)

Good Luck with your bike hunt.

R

• Thanks RJ,

Glad to hear I'm not the only one who struggles. I hadn't even considered the whole wetsuit issue. I just assumed that the leg stopped just below the knee on everyone!

I decided to opt for a specialized allez in the end, as its a very comfy frame - and I've had their mountain bikes for years. Apparently Planet X are launching a new titanium frame at some point, and they may do it in an XXL.

DP
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242