Home Chat General Chat

Hey, many questions...

Hi everyone!!

As my login and subject imply, I am a newbie!

Have always been interested in Triathlons/letes. Always drawn to any articles on Triathlons and searching for videos on youtube. I can’t explain why, the discipline just captures me.

I finally decided to bite the bullet (2 days ago) and enter my first sprint, the For Goodness Shakes – Xtreme Terrain Triahlon in Crawly.

It’s in 6 1/5 and thought that this was a good time scale to aim for due to my limited experience (pretty much none).

All my exercise at the moment takes place in the gym and in classes. I work out 5-6 times a week. I usually attend 3 pump classes (weights) a week, 2x combat classes (aerobic class using martial arts moves), 3 treadmill sessions (though I am new to this, currently on a run/walk plan and running for 3 min and walking for 1 over 40 min). I am not swimming yet, but my gym has a pool and I am obviously planning to get myself in it soon as.

Can anyone tell me if this is a realistic goal...gym based exerciser to sprint triathlon in 6 ½ months?

I have had a couple of other worries too...is this race suitable for a beginner? As it is ‘Xtreme Terrain’, there is an open water swim, which, on looking at the beginner’s page of this site isn’t recommended.

Also, due the fact all my exercise is completely gym based (and my Dad doesn’t like clutter), I don’t own a bike. Should I by a cheap (I’m a student) mountain bike...as the race is extreme terrain so includes a MTB, or a hybrid so that I can compete in other races next season more easily? (If I don’t get completely put off by the first race!).

Hmm I have seemed to go on a bit...so many questions...thank you to anyone who reads this and I will be VERY grateful to any answers/advice given.

Tri1stimer

Comments

• BoycieBoycie Posts: 189