Home Chat General Chat

HR monitors...Yay or Nay?

I'm new to Triathlon and have already started my training. I cannot decide whether to use a HR monitor or not. I understand the benifits of training within a % zone, however I would like to see if anybody says no to this modern technology and just judges their 'zone'.

All opinions and ideas would be great!

Gareth

Comments

• bennybenny Posts: 1,314
    All right gruffy, maybe without knowing, but you're asking a daring question. I expect some serious debat about this one. It has already been discussed in the past, but no agreements are reached.

For example the next thread was partly about it: http://forum.220magazine.com/tm.asp?m=10016 .

I'll probably be one of the minority who doesn't use a hrm. Recent study in England has shown that people can actually recognise training zones through their own body's behaviour and reaction. There are guys in my club who can actually tell their heart rate almost exactlybefore even watching their hrm.[image]http://forum.220magazine.com/micons/m6.gif[/image]

I know that there will follow some pro-hrm propaganda now. I believe that hrm's can be helpfull, but definetely not a necescity.

(please don't shoot me all at once[8D]).
  • gruffymaxgruffymax Posts: 21
    Tee hee, I did wonder if it might cause a possible debate!

If im honest, I like the idea of training without one so that you feel more in tune with your body. Perhaps using one at first to demonstrate the zones and feelings related to 80% max would be useful.
  • treefrogtreefrog Posts: 1,242
    Let the HRM be your guide - use its data for your training diary and follow trends. Avoid being its slave .... sometimes you just want to blast it and other times you just want to doddle. Listen to your body and let the HRM interpret. Generally after a while you instictively know what pace
  • LuckyLucky Posts: 137