Home Chat General Chat

Another Pesky Newbie

LindsLinds Posts: 124
Hi all

I have been running the Bristol Half marathon every year for the last five years, taking it les and less seriously, to the point that last year I did it with no training at all - in fact I had stopped all sport for about a year before (DIY then we had our first child).

This year I have decided to take it seriously again and have just started training and am targeting a 1:45 time for the half in September and have entered a 10k in May so I keep training.

What's that got to do with Triathlon I hear you ask.

Well in order to build up my general fitness I thought I would also do some swimming and that (finally) led to me thinking about doing a triathlon - and I'm now committed to doing the Bath Sprint Triathlon on 27 July !!!

Ok I can handle the running but the swimming and cycling are a different prospect. Now I accept that I'm not going to cover myself in glory and storm the field winning in record time, but I would like to be able to hold my head high and finish in a respectable (outside the bottom 10) time.

Now the main problem with training is my 13 month old son who I love spending time with of an evening and therefore don't have any free time till after 8pm. And I am totally crap in the morning.

For the swimming I'm thinking about doing one hour or so session a week to start with, building up to two sessions a month or so before the tri - is this woefully inadequate? Oh and I guess I will be doing something similar on the bike - although I may do a longer ride at the weekend.

And then we come to the bike - or rather the lack of. My last bike was knicked from my student house some 15 years ago which could be classed as a bit on an issue. So I'm going to have to splash out some cash and get a new one. And this is where things get worse - I've only got a budget of £200 - and that is pushing it.