Home Chat General Chat

newbie in need of swim advice

Hi everyone, this is my first post here.

I'm hoping that some of you may be able to offer some good advice???

I'm a complete novice to Triathlon and intend on entering some Sprints later this year.

I have been teaching myself front crawl since around September last year. I've been trying to teach myself from a book called Total Immersion. In the book it tells you to roll your body from your hips to make yourself more streamlined. To keep looking at the bottom of the pool and to keep your head down so as to ''press your buoy''. To reach out as far as you can and hold your leading arm until the recovering arm hits the water so that you keep your body as long as possible.

Well i'd been trying this method and felt like I had hit a brick wall. I knew that I was making mistakes especially with the breathing. I have been breathing every 3rd breath and from both sides but have been turning my head too far around so that it's virtually facing the ceiling.

sooooo...........I thought that I'd go along to my local pool tonight for some coaching as I've never had any before. The problem is that I came away completely confused over how to swim correctly.

The coach (who was very helpful) told me that I was keeping my arms too straight when in the recovery. I was keeping the leading arm out in front too long and should be pulling back with the leading hand before the recovering hand hit the water and that I was looking down when I should be looking forward - with the brow of my head touching the top of the water.

Now I'm a complete novice and willing to learn from what anyone will teach me but I'm just confused over how I should be learning to swim. The coach, who i don't doubt is very good at his job has contradicted everything that I had read in the book.

Can anyone please advise on the best method to be learning?????

Thanks from a very confused beginner

Comments