Home Chat General Chat

Thames Turbo

Afternoon all,

I have just taken part in my first ever triathlon (sprint) and clocked a time of 1hr 22mins 32secs. but have no idea if this is a good time for a newcomer??!!! Any ideas or newcomers first times??

Comments

• craftycrafty Posts: 9
    Hi steve, I also took part in the TT sprint yesterday - how frickin cold was it!?! By the looks of the provisional results you came in 167th out of 317 finishers. Factor in the harsh conditions and I'd say that was a great first performance. For comparison I clocked in at 1hr15:15 - slower than i would have liked to have done but still quite happy considering the conditions (and that i have a cold!).

I'm also fairly new to the sport (this was my second ever tri) so will bow to the more experienced members of the forum for more advice/insight.

Out of interest - your time stated differs from that on the provisional results - are you going off of your watch time?

• Yeah was bloody cold on the cycle....then felt like i had blocks of ice for feet on the run!! I actually got my time wrong it was 1hr 22mins 39secs. Looking forward to improving, doing race 2 and hopefully conditions will be much better.

Need to train more for the transition between cycle and run as it was a lot harder than i first thought, didn't train any bricks!!! Also felt i couldn't get going on the outward cycle leg!!!! Return much better!

Cheers for the input

Steve
    I'd done a few brick sessions (mostly in the gym - straight on the treadmill after a spin class) but found the transition much harder on the day - I think it was because of how cold my legs got on the bike. Fingers crossed it'll be easier in the next race but practicing definitely helps. I also wore a windproof and gloves for the ride and then changed into a long sleeve t-shirt for the run; that must have added some time to my transitions. What did you wear?