Home Chat General Chat

Tri Clubs

LindsLinds Posts: 124
Hi all

As you may have noticed from my other posts I'm a total newbie with some running experience but no bike/swim experience.

I am thinking about joining a local Tri Club (I'm in Bristol so BAD Tri, Kingswood Tri seem to be my local clubs) but I don't want to appear a total pillcok from the off (although they are bound to notice eventually!) as I have only just started run training, haven't even been on a bike yet and only did my first swim (a worryingly knackering 20 lengths) at the weekend.

Should I hold off joining until I've down a few more swims, got a bike and done some more running. I guess for now I would be mostly attending the swim sessions and occasional bike session but don't want to upset people by being totally useless, getting in peoples way, "hogging" the coach and generally slowing everyone else up.

The flip side of this is that they can teach me the good techniques/habits early on, so I might not have to try and get rid of all the bad habits I will almost certainly pick up.

In short - would a 35 year old bloke fresh to tri get in your way/irritate you at your Tri Club training sessions?

Thanks

Linds

Comments

• jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    Take the plunge and join,a good club will provide you with all the guidance you should need,a look on the Triathlon England website will give you a list of what each club provides,some have coaching sessions in all three disciplines others maybe only one or two so choose what suits you and if you don't like it move on.I see BAD tri did win a 220 award tho' so they can't be that bad.
  • legalbeaglelegalbeagle Posts: 208
    Hi Linds

Can't speak for the club you are near to but as a 40+ newbie with little experience, I joined my local club and was made really welcome!

I'd say join now and get to meet some more people, find a good coach, get some encouragement etc etc and find out that most clubs are a bunch of ordinary folk!