Home Chat General Chat

mountain bike vs road bike pedals

Why do road bike and mountain bikes have different clipless pedal systems? I've just put my mountain bike clipless pedals on a new road bike I've bought (Quatana Roo Trueno - absolutely brill) and they work fine. It has the advantage that I dont need to buy new pedals or shoes. So am I missing something fundimental fundymental phundimental (doesn't look right does it!)?

Also why dont more people ride wearing running shoes and pedals with straps?

Doing the Llanelli triathlon on the 21st - it'll be my first, can't wait.[:)]

Comments

• fatmattfatmatt Posts: 145
    i'm not an expert on this and someone will probably put me right here, but the points i see are,

mountain biking involves getting off the bike and running some sections therefore the shoes have to be suitable for this,

road shoes tend to have stiffer soles for easier power transfer through the pedals, which is also why people don't generally use trainers in straps, they are just too soft, although you do see them in some of the draft legal races,

there is no reason why you shouldn't wear your mountain bike shoes for tri, lots of people do

good luck

fatmatt
  • BonusBBonusB Posts: 279
    fatmatt has the main points:

Mountain bike shoes only have part of the sole reinforced for stiffness meaning that the power transfer from the stroke of the pedal is not 100% transfered to the drive of the bike. Road shoes being stiffer (mine have a full crabon sole; same as most road shoes) transfer more of that energy; they also have a greater contact surface with the pedal again helping to transfer more power. Road pedals and the shoes are also lighter, and weight = time.
  • jazdogjazdog Posts: 223
    This is a really interesting point... I've been using trainers and those special toeclip pedals and am quite happy with them... makes T2 whole lot simpler..